Mahinda Rajapaksa loses one year

Bookmark Mahinda Rajapaksa loses one year

President Mahinda Rajapaksa’s second term will begin on November 19 this year. The President’s Office yesterday received a communication from the Supreme Court to that effect. Sources said that the President thereby would lose one year of his first term.

The Supreme Court yesterday conveyed to the President its interpretation of the reference made to it by the President regarding the issue of his taking oath of office as President for a second term.

On Monday President’s Counsel Nihal Jayamanne told the Court that the first term of office of President Mahinda Rajapaksa went on till November 11, 2011, according to the Constitution of Sri Lanka and his second term of office, after re-election, begins only from there. Counsel Jayamanne appeared for Sarath Kongahage, a candidate at the January 26, 2010 presidential polls.

He emphasized that the six years must run as the people had decided it was six years and nothing less. President Rajapaksa should take oaths for a second term within two weeks from November 19, 2011, he said

At the outset, Attorney General Mohan Peiris PC told the Supreme Court that President Mahinda Rajapaksa should take oath of office for his second term, as President of Sri Lanka, on November 19, 2010, according to Article 31/3A/d/i, introduced by the Third Amendment to the Constitution of Sri Lanka.

The President took oath of office for his first term on November 19, 2005. He went for an early poll at the end of four year. The poll was on January 26, 2010. Hence he should take oath for his second term of six years, on a date corresponding to November 19, on the date of the poll in 2010 or the succeeding year, 2011, whichever date is earlier, he said.

Hence, the date for the second term should be November 19, 2010. The first term of office of the President was alive though he had gone for a poll at the end of four years instead of six, the AG said.

The President could take the oath within two weeks from Nov 19, 2010.

The bench comprised the Chief Justice J. A. N. de Silva, Justices Dr. Shirani Bandaranayake, J. de S. Balapatabendi, K. Sripavan, P. A. Ratnayake, Chandra Ekanayake and S. I. Imam. island



  1. Pingback: Durbin and Schumer prepare for fight with donations to Senate … | Management Business Wisdom

  2. SF supporters, thawa 7 years walinwath try karamu ehenam. DZONE ADMIN WAL UURATAI me kiyanne, mada tikak ekathu karala thiyaganin. aye UPFA eken ena mokata hari gahannath epai. oka thamai thopi huthige puthalata kalin ma kiwwe, oya SF kiyana pakaya paradinawa, sadda wahala boru nokiya hitapan kiyala. dan dakkane. thopi okkoma puka polawe gahagatha hati. dan itin chande dushithai kiyala ka gahapiyaw hithe amaruwa yanna ekka. mokada oka kiwwa kiyala MR aye chandayak thiyanawai.. 😆

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s