Sri Lanka named its squad for Champions Trophy

icc-champions-trophy11The ICC Champions Trophy 2009 is a 2nd biggest cricket tournament scheduled to take place in South Africa in September-October 2009. It will be the sixth mini world cricket series. The ICC Champions Trophy 2009 will be contested by 8 Test teams which have been ‘seeded’ and divided into two groups are A and B.

Sri Lanka cricket named a largely expected 15-man squad for next month’s Champions Trophy. Among the changes are the dropping of legspinner Malinga Bandara and seamers Dilhara Fernando and Isuru Udana from the side that played Pakistan earlier this month. There was no place either for Chaminda Vaas, who retired from Tests but wants to play one-dayers till the 2011 World Cup

Sri Lanka’s fast-bowling department will be led by the in-form pair of Nuwan Kulasekara and Thilan Thushara, and supported by the pace of Lasith Malinga, who was erratic during the recent one-dayers against Pakistan, and Dammika Prasad.

Sri Lanka’s concern remains the fragility of their lower middle-order, which caved in with little resistance in the final two games against Pakistan. The selectors have, however, kept their faith in the trio of Chamara Kapugedera, Thilan Samaraweera and Thilina Kandamby.

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dammika Prasad, Lasith Malinga, Thilina Kandamby


1st Match, Group B – South Africa v Sri Lanka (2009/9/22)

2nd Match, Group A – Pakistan v West Indies (2009/9/23)

3rd Match, Group B – South Africa v New Zealand (2009/9/24)

4th Match, Group B – England v Sri Lanka (2009/9/25)

5th Match, Group A – Australia v West Indies (2009/9/26)

6th Match, Group A – India v Pakistan (2009/9/26)

7th Match, Group B – New Zealand v Sri Lanka (2009/9/27)

8th Match, Group B – South Africa v England (2009/9/27)

9th Match, Group A – India v Australia (2009/9/28)

10th Match, Group B – England v New Zealand (2009/9/29)

11th Match, Group A – Pakistan v Australia (2009/9/30)

12th Match, Group A – India v West Indies (2009/9/30)

1st Semi-Final – A1 v B2 (2009/10/02)

2nd Semi-Final – B1 v A2 (2009/10/03)

Final – TBC v TBC (2009/10/05)